Pete Suazo Local Internship Scholarship

The Senator Pete Suazo Leadership Foundation was founded in November 2001, shortly after the tragic death of the late Senator Suazo. The Foundation was established at the University of Utah to honor the legacy and commitment of the Senator. The Foundation provides internship scholarships to local interns with a demonstrated involvement in their culture and community.


Previous recipients

2017: Connor Davis, Emma Martin

2016: Joseph Sorenson, Hans Liu, Alyssa Charles, Megan Hansen, Fatema Ahad, Elizabeth Espinoza

2015: Joowon Jung, Chantelle Allphin

2014: Monica Lizet Allen, Vivian Nguyen, Wogai Mohmand, Camila Esposito, Samantha Pannier, Nicole Daniel Montgomery, Rachel Anne Jackson, Gevon Jeanette Guerra

2013: Jessica Andrea Chamorro

2012: Evan Leung Hatch, Veronica Andrea Pineda, Tessa Lopez

2011: Javier Nelson Segura, Jiangnan Zhu, Antonio Brazao, Gildas Tsaty

2010: Tesch Leigh West, Samson Miriti Mutua

2009: Jordan Imani

2008: Julia Wee, Zain Siddiqui

2006: Reyna Nebeker

2004: Jeremy W. Smith, Robert Kagabo

Give Back to the Hinckley Institute

The Hinckley Institute of Politics has opened doors to successful careers in the public and private sectors for over 7,500 former interns and scholarship winners. Help provide opportunities to current students by giving back to the Hinckley Institute.