The Honorees 

The Hinckley Institute of Politics invites distinguished politicians, academics, and professionals who give outstanding service and commitment to be Hinckley Fellows. Hinckley Fellows spend several days at the Hinckley Institute lecturing University of Utah classes, meeting with students, faculty members, and community leaders, and speaking at a Hinckley Forum. The Hinckley Fellows program has honored many notable public servants over the past 50 years. Hinckley Fellow recipients can be found below.

2016: Ambassador Pierre-Richard Prosper

Lead trial attorney in the prosecution of Jean-Paul Akayesu—the first conviction of rape as an act of genocide in international law

2015: Michael Lewis

Internationally bestselling author and contributing editor to Vanity Fair

2014: Carlos Martins

Founder of Wizard Language Schools and Grupo Multi

2013: Malcolm Gladwell

Internationally bestselling author; staff writer for The New Yorker since 1996

2013: Dr. John Warnock

American computer scientist best known as the co-founder with Charles Geschke of Adobe Systems Inc.

2012: Norman Ornstein

Political scientist and resident scholar at the American Enterprise Institute

2012: Thomas E. Mann

W. Averell Harriman Chair and a senior fellow in Governance Studies at the Brookings Institution

2011: Martin Tolchin

Founder of The Hill and a driving force in launching Politico

2011: Yair Hirschfeld

Key architect of the 1993 Oslo Accords between Israel and Palestine

2010: Mitt Romney

Former President and CEO of the Salt Lake Olympic Organizing Committee, Governor of Massachusetts, GOP Presidential candidate

2010: Dallin H. Oaks

Served as a member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints since May 1984; he was president of Brigham Young University from 1971 to 1980, and a justice of the Utah Supreme Court from 1980 until his resignation in 1984 to accept his calling to the apostleship

2009: Frank Keating

Governor of Oklahoma during the Oklahoma City bombing

2009: Thomas Friedman

World-renowned author, three-time Pulitzer Prize winner, foreign affairs expert, and New York Times journalist

2008: Brent Scowcroft

National Security Advisor to Presidents Gerald Ford and George H. W. Bush

2008: Dan Jones

President of Dan Jones & Associates and emeritus University of Utah political science lecturer. Former director of the Bureau of Government and Opinion Research

2007: Lee Hamilton

Former Congressman, Co-chair of the Iraq Study Group, Vice chairman of the 9/11 Commission

2007: Kay Atkinson King

Senior Policy Advisor, House Committee on International Relations

2006: Alec Russell

Washington Bureau Chief, Daily Telegraph

2006: Larry Sabato

Director, University of Virginia Center for Politics

2006: Mickey Ibarra

Director of Intergovernmental Affairs, Clinton administration

2006: Brian Schweitzer

Governor of Montana

2005: William Nixon

Chairman & CEO, Policy Impact Communications

2004 Peter Beinart

Editor, The New Republic

1994: Rocco Siciliano

Under Secretary, U.S. Department of Commerce

1986: Larry Sabato

Professor, University of Virginia

1983: Joseph Biden

U.S. Senator (D-DE)

1982: Robert Giaimo 

U.S. Congressman (D-CT)

1982: Tom Korologos

Founder and President, Timmons & Company

1982: Gene Eidenberg

Exec. Director, Democratic National Committee

1981: Juanita Kreps

Secretary, U.S. Department of Commerce

1980: John Swigert, Jr. 

U.S. Congressman (D-CO)

1979: Ralph Nader

Presidential Candidate, 2000 and 2004

1979: Frank Church

U.S. Senator, (D-ID)

1979: Norman Mailer


1979: Richard Neustadt

Political author, presidential expert

1978: Yitzhak Rabin

Prime Minister of Israel

1978: John Chancellor 

Anchorman, NBC Nightly News

1978: William Buckley, Jr. 

Editor, The National Review

1977: Fumihiko Togo

Japanese Ambassador to the U.S.

1977: William Brock

Chairman, Republican National Committee

1977: Brent Scowcroft

National Security Advisor to Presidents Gerald Ford and George H. W. Bush

1977: Alger Chapman

Chairman, Squibb Corporation

1976: Charles Wiggins

U.S. Congressman (R-CA)

1976: George McGovern

U.S. Senator (D-SD)

1975: Gary Engebretson

Republican National Committee

1975: Robert Strauss

Chairman, Democratic National Committee

1975: John Anderson

U.S. Congressman (R-IL)

1974: James Reston

New York Times Editor

1974: Richard Lugar

U.S. Senator (R-IN)

1974: Ben Wood

Professor, Columbia University

1972: John Tunney

U.S. Senator (D-CA)

1972: Colin Jackson 

Member of British Parliament

1972: Harry Dent

Special Counsel to President Richard M. Nixon

1972: Mark Hatfield

U.S. Senator (R-OR)

1971: Paul Porter

Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission

1971: Sidney James

Vice President, Time Inc.

1971: John Daly 


1971: Walter Hickel 

Governor (R-AK)

1971: Barry Goldwater, Jr. 

U.S. Congressman (R-CA)

1970: Larry Margolis 

Exec. Director, Conference on State Legislatures

1970: Robert Finch

Secretary, U.S. Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare

1970: Hubert Humphrey

Vice President of the United States

1969: William Anderson

U.S. Congressman (D-TN)

1969: George Romney 

Governor (R-MI)

1968: Richard Bolling

U.S. Congressman (D-MO)

1968: Edward Kennedy

U.S. Senator (D-MA)

1968: Mike Mansfield 

U.S. Senator (D-MT)

1967: James Farley

Chairman, Democratic National Committee

1967: Robert Smylie 

Governor (R-ID)

1966: Carleton Kent

Chief, Chicago Times

1966: Leonard Hall 

Chairman, National Republican Party