Hinckley Institute

Home Scholarship Matheson Leadership

Scholarship Matheson Leadership

Scott M. Matheson Leadership Scholarship

The Matheson Leadership scholarship was established in honor of the late governor to offer scholarships that encourage distinguished students who exemplify extraordinary leadership in the tradition of Scott M. Matheson. A graduate of the University of Utah and Stanford Law School, Matheson’s impressive career included Deputy Salt Lake County Attorney, legal counsel to the Union Pacific Railroad Company, and President of the Utah State Bar. He served as Governor of Utah from 1977 to 1985. During his tenure as governor, Matheson supported public education and advocated for states’ rights.



The Matheson Leadership Forum scholarships are available to undergraduate students of any discipline at the University of Utah. The committee expects that each applicant will meet the following criteria:

  • Entering senior year of undergraduate studies

  • Have completed 90 credit hours before the beginning of the fall semester the scholarship is awarded.

  • Full-time student who will maintain full-time student status at the University of Utah throughout the upcoming academic year.

  • Demonstrate outstanding leadership potential

  • Must be a U.S. citizen, lawfully present in the U.S., or have graduated from a Utah high school.

Students are eligible to apply only once for the scholarship. Finalists will be interviewed.

If you have specific questions or would like additional information, contact the Hinckley Institute at 801-581-8501



  • Resume

  • Two Letters of Recommendation (one letter of recommendation MUST be from a professor)

  • Transcripts from all colleges/universities attended (unofficial are acceptable)

  • Short Essay (250 words - prompt provided in application)

  • Long Essay (500 words - prompt provided in application)

Scholarship decisions will be made before the end of spring semester. Funding will be released through the University of Utah Financial Aid & Scholarship Office and will be credited to outstanding tuition balances; excess funds will be refunded to the student.

Previous Recipients

2023: Emma Taylor, Camden Alexander

2022: Tiffany Chan, Michael Gonzalez

2021: Madison Pay, Zahra Saifee

2020: Merry Joseph, Julianne Liu

2019: Sheva Mozafari, Devon Gethers

2018: Michelle Ngo, Elizabeth Fine

2017: Enzo Krensky-Hart, Tyler Kohring

2016: Katie Crawford, Anthony Fratto Oyler

2015: Georgie Zamantakis, Cindy Chen

2014: Lisa Hawkins, Kendahl Melvin

2013: Max Stiefel, Jamison Gordon

2012: Arthur Jessop, Neena Pack

2011: Whitney Benns, Courtney Gwinn

2010:  Jonathan Ng, Louis Gakumba

2009: Rochelle McConkie, Yasmeen Hussain

2008: Jamie Johnson, Marko Mijic

2007: Johnathan Hayes, Jared Kubly

2006: Jeffrey Walker, Bryson B. Morgan

2005: Adam Cardwell, Alex Lowe

2004:  Jamie Sorenson, Matthew Sanderson

2003: Michael Klepich, Todd Ethington

2002: Constance Thornley, Ben Lowe, Yelena Ayrapetova, Paul Arnold

2001: Kara Turner, Brent Heber Olson, Brian Beesley, Arlyn Bradshaw

2000: John Patrick Torgenson, Richard Gurgel

1999: Ben McAdams, Eryn Caamano

1998: Jeffrey Merchant

1997: Andrew Spencer, Martha Poelman

1996: James Coles, Rachel Day

1995: Maxine Margaritis, Lee Wright, Vandna Sinha

1994: Amanda Williams, Wendy Evans

1993: Kenneth Denos, Paige Peterson

1992: Ross Romero, Donald Dunn

1991: Paula Quenemoen, MaryLou Leyba Frank, Kurtis Kendell


The Hinckley Institute of Politics has opened doors to successful careers in the public and private sectors for over 8,000 former interns and scholarship winners. Help provide opportunities to current students by giving back to the Hinckley Institute.

For 2024-2025:

March 1, 2024