Hinckley Institute

Home Scholarship Suazo Community

Scholarship Suazo Community

Suazo Community Scholarship

The Senator Pete Suazo Leadership Foundation was founded in November 2001, shortly after the tragic death of the late Senator Suazo. The Foundation was established to honor the legacy and commitment of the Senator, who is remembered as a heroic role model with a strong social conscience. This scholarship seeks to reward the academic success of select University of Utah students.



The Foundation provides one to three scholarships up to $1,000 for ethnic minority students enrolled at the University of Utah. The Hinckley Institute will award the scholarships to students who meet the following criteria:

  • Strong academic standing in any major at the University of Utah

  • Full-time student who will maintain full-time student status at the University of Utah throughout the upcoming academic year.

  • Demonstrate a commitment to culture and community service.

  • Must be a U.S. citizen, lawfully present in the U.S., or have graduate from a Utah high school.

If you have specific questions or would like additional information, contact the Hinckley Institute at 801-581-8501 for additional information.



  • Resume

  • Letter of Recommendation (from either a professor or professional work supervisor)

  • Transcript (unofficial is acceptable)

  • Essay (prompt provided in application)

Scholarship decisions will be made before the end of spring semester. Funding will be released through the University of Utah Financial Aid & Scholarship Office and will be credited to outstanding tuition balances; excess funds will be refunded to the student.

Previous Recipients

2020: Aranza Castillo, Sarah Oozco

2019: Pedro Padilla-Martinez, Sylvia Salazar

2018: Not awarded

2017: Valeria Jimenez

2016: Elizabeth Valle

2015: Nisha Kavalam

2014: Leo Masic

2012: Maryam Ebrahimi, Whitney Benns

2009: Sayra Moran

2008: Alyson Alegre Velasco, Melissa M. Yuen

2007: Yvette Gonzalez, Rebecca Kerr, Juan Jose Rodriguez, Candelario De Jesus, Candice Meldrum

2005: Aminatu Yusuf, Katherine Rubalcava

2004: Gabrielle Martinez


The Hinckley Institute of Politics has opened doors to successful careers in the public and private sectors for over 8,000 former interns and scholarship winners. Help provide opportunities to current students by giving back to the Hinckley Institute.

For 2024-2025:

March 1, 2024