Hinckley Institute

Home Scholarship Todd Taylor

Scholarship Todd Taylor

Todd Taylor Memorial Scholarship

The Todd Taylor Memorial Scholarship was established to reward successful students who embody Todd Taylor’s work ethic, dedication, and passion. Taylor passed away in 2012 while serving as the longest-tenure state political party executive director in the nation. He is remembered as “a true renaissance man” with a passion for national and local politics, a near photographic memory, encyclopedic knowledge of Utah politics, and personal authenticity.



Strong academic standing in any major at the University of Utah

Full-time student who will maintain full-time student status at the University of Utah throughout the upcoming academic year.

Demonstrate a commitment to public service and political engagement.

Must be a U.S. citizen, lawfully present in the U.S., or have graduated from a Utah high school.

If you have specific questions or would like additional information, contact the Hinckley Institute at 801-581-8501.



  • Resume

  • Letter of Recommendation (from either a professor or professional work supervisor)

  • Transcript (unofficial is acceptable)

  • Essay (prompt provided in application)

Scholarship decisions will be made before the end of spring semester. Funding will be released through the University of Utah Financial Aid & Scholarship Office and will be credited to outstanding tuition balances; excess funds will be refunded to the student.

Previous Recipients

2020: Andrea Jimenez, Sierra Marty

2019: Abigail Barney

2018: AnnaMarie Barnes

2017: Kylee Groft, Derek Emfinger

2016: Stephanie Gladwin, Lisa Homel

2015: Dane Alban, Augustus Stoneman, Andy Ho

2014: Collin Bess

2013: Steven Young

2013: Ashley Jolin, Sara Jayne Seastrand


The Hinckley Institute of Politics has opened doors to successful careers in the public and private sectors for over 8,000 former interns and scholarship winners. Help provide opportunities to current students by giving back to the Hinckley Institute.

For 2024-2025:

March 1, 2024