Hinckley Institute

Home Scholarship Graduate Robert H Hinckley

Scholarship Graduate Robert H Hinckley

Robert H. Hinckley Graduate Scholarship

Robert H. Hinckley was a remarkable person who led by example with a strong devotion to his country. He founded the Hinckley Institute of Politics to encourage the “youngest and best minds to enter politics.” He was a dedicated public servant in the Roosevelt and Truman administrations. This graduate scholarship was established to encourage students in following his example of public service and political engagement. It is awarded to a student with significant experience in community involvement and a commitment to a career in public service.



A scholarship of up to $3,500 awarded to a male graduate student who has significant experience in community involvement and commitment to a career in public service. Candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • Strong acedmic standing in any discipline at the University of Utah

  • Male graduate student

  • Full-time student who will maintain full-time student status at the University of Utah throughout the upcoming academic year.

  • Demonstrate experience in community involvement

  • Demonstrate a commitment to pursing a career in public service.

  • Must be a U.S. citizen, lawfully present in the U.S., or have graduate from a Utah high school.

If you have specific questions or would like additional information, contact the Hinckley Institute at 801-581-8501



  • Resume

  • Letter of Recommendation (from a professor or professional work supervisor)

  • Transcript (unofficial is acceptable)

  • Essay (prompt provided in application)

Scholarship decisions will be made before the end of spring semester. Funding will be released through the University of Utah Financial Aid & Scholarship Office and will be credited to outstanding tuition balances; excess funds will be refunded to the student

Previous Recipients

2020: Fuaad Hararah

2019: Not awarded

2018: Ahmed Hamdy Khalaf Abdelaal

2017: Ben Seastrand

2016: Christopher Jensen

2015: Collin Bess

2014: Justin Zizumbo

2013: Cody Jenkins

2012: Kyle Gray

2011: Don Willie

2010: Shane Young

2009: Taylor Morgan, Joseph Taggart

2008: Jesse Michael Nix

2007: Matt Lyon

2006: Chad Curtis

2005: James Bergstedt

2004: Micah Elggren


2003: Stephen L. Nelson

2002: P. Jeff Mulitalo

2001: Matthew Boyden, Nathan Michael Pierce

2000: Dallis Nordstrom, John Norman

1998: Chris Mcllroy

1997: Alpheus Mokogokolo, W. Brett Graham

1996: Lee Andrew Wright

1995: Scott Finlinson

1994: Kenneth Denos

1993: Dennis Jolley

1992: Mark Hindley, Clayton Morgan

1991: Matthew Anderson, Mike Gehrke, Stanford Barrett

1990: Matthew Durham

1986: Randall Snow

1985: Paul Pieper

1984: Jesse Gallegos


The Hinckley Institute of Politics has opened doors to successful careers in the public and private sectors for over 8,000 former interns and scholarship winners. Help provide opportunities to current students by giving back to the Hinckley Institute.

For 2023-2024:

March 1, 2023